Separate Tables | April 2006

By Terence Rattigan. Directed by Patricia Melluish.

Separate Tables is a study of the lies, class judgements and repressed passions of the long-term residents of the Beauregard Private Hotel in Bournemouth.

Miss Cooper, manageress of the hotel, cannot remain aloof from the residents’ troubles.

An estranged husband and wide are reunited and two despairing misfits are drawn together as she gives the residents courage to face life.

Set between 1954-1956 in the dining room and lounge.


Mabel:                                  Janet Clark
Lady Matheson:                 Penny Vetterlein
Mrs Railton-Bell:                Rene Hughes
Miss Meacham:                  Jean Golder
Doreen:                                Ruth Clarke
Mr Fowler:                          Tony Skeggs
Mrs Shankland:                  Caroline Shufflebotham
Miss Cooper:                       Pauline Whalley
Mr Malcolm:                        Del Stone
Charles Stratton:                Richard Barrett
Jean Tanner:                       Jenny Jones
Major Pollock:                     John Heather
Miss Railton-Bell:               Janet Sharrock


Set Designer:                        Adrian Pope
Lighting Designer:               David Hart
Sound Designer:                   Ian James
Stage Director:                     John Heather
Stage Manager:                    Liane Marchant
Asst Stage Manager:           Ann Herbert
Set construction:                  Members of T62
Stage Crew:                          Amy Clarke, Derek Melluish
Lighting Assistant:              Sam Tanner
Sound Assistant:                  Daniel Whymark
Props:                                    Ann Herbert, Beryl Neal
Wardrobe:                            Margaret Uzzell
Make-up & wigs:                 Penny Vetterlein, Jean Golder
Prompt:                                 Nina James

House Manager:                  John Heather
Refreshments:                     Nina James, Ann Herbert
Raffle:                                    Eve Stone
Box Office:                            Margaret Uzzell
Poster/programme design: Graham Copeland
Programme Editor:              John Guttridge