Skip to content

The Farndale Avenue…Macbeth | April 2002

The Farndale Avenue Housing Estate Townswomen’s Guild Dramatic Society’s Production of Macbeth. By David McGillivray & Walter Zerlin Jnr. Directed by Ray Harris.

The enthusiastic Farndale Avenue ladies hope the originality of their production of Macbeth will get them, with the help of their producer, Mr Plummer, to the finals at Welwyn Garden City.

Alas, events conspire against them and they fall at the last hurdle.

Whilst the plot is a familiar one of amateurs hopelessly out of their league, the writing is brisk with many puns alng the way (“Macbeth: How goes the night? Boy: “the moon is down” cue hardboard moon crashing to the floor).

The action takes place in the church hall of Our Lady of Cappuccino Arabica Avenue West  Hamwick.

Gwynneth                    Stella Harvey
Mrs Reece                    Rosemary Harris
Henry                           Dennis Packham
George Peach              Philip Cohen
Felicity                         Viki Jones
Dawn                            Heather London
Kate                              Tricia Melluish
Minnie                          Maureen Taylor
Thelma                         Penny Vetterlein
Mr Plummer               John Heather
Mrs Dabney                Phyllis Bardell

Set designer                          Ray Harris
Lighting Designer                 David Hart
Sound Designer                     Ian James
Stage Manager                      Alice London
Associate Stage Manager    Ann Herbert
Assistant Stage Managers   Kate Lemmon, Stuart Scott
Set construction                    T62 members
Set décor                                Caroline Fuller, Stella Harvey
Props                                      Joan Martin
Wardrobe                               Jaqui Sirot with Pat King, Brenda Noble, Carolyn Taylor
Make-up                                Jean Golder
Prompt                                   Phyllis Bardell

House Manager                    Maurice Uzzell
Refreshments                       Polly Hart
Raffle                                      Maggie Hoyle
Box Office                              Margaret Uzzell
Poster Design                        Adrian Pope
Programme Editor               Maurice Uzzell
Programme Design              Graham Copeland