Skip to content

Terra Nova | February 2002

By Ted Tally. Directed by Muriel Kidd.

The epic story of courage by Captain Scott and his companions on their ill-fated expedition to the South Pole. 

All their determination, bravery and heroism could not prevent the enterprise ending in tragedy.

This was an ambitious production, including the use of visual projection slides courtesy of Peter Bidwell, Maggie Hoyle and Ian James. The Antarctic costumes came from Leicester Drama Society and the Norwegian flag was loaned from the Royal Norwegian Embassy. Advice was provided by Dunstable Rep. Theatre.


Capt. R.F.Scott                              Del Stone
Capt. Lawrence Oates                 John Oakenfull
P.O Edward Evans                       David Kinch
Lt. H.Bowers                                 Alex Raemers
Dr. Edward Wilson                       Jon Clark
Roald Amundsen                          Howard James
Kathleen Scott                              Claire Morris

Set designer                                 Adrian Pope
Lighting Designer                        Andrew Herbert
Sound Designer                           Daniel Whymark
Stage Manager                            Sally Guttridge
Set construction                          T62 members
Set décor                                      Adrian Pope & Caroline Fuller
Lighting Asst                               Gemma Betteley
Sound Asst                                   Alice London
Props                                             Joan Martin, Nina James
Wardrobe                                     Jean Golder, Heather Henderson
Make-up                                      Penny Vetterlein
Prompt                                         Joy Judd

House Manager                           Maurice Uzzell
Refreshments                              Nina James
Raffle                                             Pauline Whalley
Box Office                                     Margaret Uzzell
Poster Design                              Graham Copeland
Programme Editor                      Maurice Uzzell
Programme Design                     Graham Copeland